BBDabo and OJJallow

Observations on
the Election Results of the PPP National Congress 2018
Peoples Progressive Party held its National Congress at the YMCA, Kanifing,
from the 28th to 30th December 2018 in accordance with
the Party’s Constitution. This was the first congress after nineteen years
which was convened by the National Executive Committee of the Party.

preparations to the congress saw the emergence of two factions which came up
with different dates, venue and content of the Congress. On the basis of the discussions
facilitated by the Independent Electoral Commission, a compromise was reached
on the date and venue. The two factions further agreed to have an elective
congress. The two aspiring candidates that emerged for the position of
Secretary General and Leader of the Party were:

  1.  Bakary
    B. Dabo, Member of the National Executive Committee, Member of the Central Committee,
    and national Treasurer; and
  2. Papa
    Njie, whose candidature as a bona-fide member of the PPP has yet to be approved
    by the National Executive Committee.

However, the process of registering constituency delegates and the campaign leading to voting were marred by serious irregularities which are now coming to light. These include bribery of delegates, intimidation of delegates by withholding transport funds and food, and registration of unqualified constituency delegates. These undemocratic practices are contrary to the principles, the values and the practices of the PPP.

In the light of the aforementioned
inconsistencies and irregularities in the balloting and voting process, which
are sufficiently serious to undermine the credibility of the election process, we
hereby reject outright the results from the PPP 30
th December, 2018
election as we feel it did not reflect the true wishes of the bona-fide members
of the Party that met to elect their Party Leader. We shall pursue this matter
further to ensure that truth prevails and The Gambian people shall be kept

Yahya Ceesay, PPP Interim National President;
Dudu Taal, Member of the National Executive Committee
 Hon Kalilou Singhateh, Member of the National
Executive Committee

Sidi Sanneh’s Blog